the queen without a country

the queen without a country

a surprisingly modern fairytale about love and loss

co-creation with Transparant

A devastating storm drives the King and Queen from their country. Their daughter doesn’t set foot in the new no man’s land. When her parents die, she crowns herself queen of a country that doesn’t exist: a country that exists only in words. ‘I am a living memory, a relic, a last remaining specimen.’

music Wim Henderickx | text Paul Verrept | director Wouter Van Looy | singers Reut Rivka, Natasha Young, Els Mondelaers, Frank Wörner | percussion Ruben Cooman, Tom De Cock, Christiaan Saris | voice Marie Vinck | scenography Freija Van Esbroeck | video Freija Van Esbroeck en Paul Delissen | sounddesign Bart Celis | electronics Jorrit Tamminga | video and lightdesign Peter Quasters

image Freija Van Esbroeck en Paul Delissen | photography Koen Broos

reviews

  • Sorry, this entry is only available in Dutch.

    Max Arian
    Theaterkrant.nl (****)

past performances

Tue, 05 August 2014, 20:00 - 21:30Zomer van Antwerpen
Antwerpen
tickets
Wed, 06 August 2014, 20:00 - 21:30Zomer van Antwerpen
Antwerpen
tickets
Thu, 07 August 2014, 20:00 - 21:30Zomer van Antwerpen
Antwerpen
tickets
Fri, 08 August 2014, 20:00 - 21:30Zomer van Antwerpen
Antwerpen
tickets
Sat, 09 August 2014, 20:00 - 21:30Zomer van Antwerpen
Antwerpen
tickets
Tue, 12 August 2014, 20:00 - 21:30Zomer van Antwerpen
Antwerpen
tickets
Wed, 13 August 2014, 20:00 - 21:30Zomer van Antwerpen
Antwerpen
tickets
Thu, 14 August 2014, 20:00 - 21:30Zomer van Antwerpen
Antwerpen
tickets
Fri, 15 August 2014, 20:00 - 21:30Zomer van Antwerpen
Antwerpen
tickets
Sat, 16 August 2014, 20:00 - 21:30Zomer van Antwerpen
Antwerpen
tickets
Tue, 19 August 2014, 20:00 - 21:30Zomer van Antwerpen
Antwerpen
tickets
Wed, 20 August 2014, 20:00 - 21:30Zomer van Antwerpen
Antwerpen
tickets
Thu, 21 August 2014, 20:00 - 21:30Zomer van Antwerpen
Antwerpen
tickets
Fri, 22 August 2014, 20:00 - 21:30Zomer van Antwerpen
Antwerpen
tickets
Sat, 23 August 2014, 20:00 - 21:30Zomer van Antwerpen
Antwerpen
tickets
Sun, 05 October 2014, 13:00 - 14:30Parktheater
Eindhoven
tickets
Sun, 05 October 2014, 16:00 - 17:30Parktheater
Eindhoven
tickets
Wed, 29 October 2014, 14:00 - 15:30Concertgebouw Brugge
Brugge
tickets
Tue, 27 January 2015, 14:00 - 15:30Vlaamse Opera
Gent
tickets
Wed, 28 January 2015, 10:00 - 11:30Vlaamse Opera
Gent
tickets
Wed, 28 January 2015, 14:00 - 15:30Vlaamse Opera
Gent
tickets
Mon, 25 May 2015, 19:00 - 20:30Operadagen Rotterdam
Rotterdam
tickets
Fri, 12 June 2015, 15:00 - 16:30Oerol
Terschelling
tickets
Sat, 13 June 2015, 15:00 - 16:30Oerol
Terschelling
tickets
Sat, 13 June 2015, 19:00 - 20:30Oerol
Terschelling
tickets
Sun, 14 June 2015, 15:00 - 16:30Oerol
Terschelling
tickets
Sun, 14 June 2015, 19:00 - 20:30Oerol
Terschelling
tickets